I thought I would try giving this blogging thing another go

Well, I’m graduating college soon (like two and a half weeks soon) and I’m facing the increasingly intimidating reality of being a self-employed knitted accessories producer. But hey, who says I have to go at it alone? I’ve been blogging for a class and seem to have remembered how much I enjoy it. With this blog, I think I got so caught up in making sure my posts Meant Something I stopped enjoying it. I’m not sure what I’ll do with my older posts, especially the tube-related ones:  it’s an interesting catalog of my life at the time, but honestly, I still want to move past the whole eating disorder thing. I think the posts attracted the wrong audience, and to be frank, I don’t have the time or the energy for anyone’s eating disorder but my own. I might even start a new blog, and I’ll be sure to update you all when I do.

Instead, I thought I would focus on things that I actually, you know, like. This will include things like vintage fashion, sewing, knitting, history (especially women’s history), and textiles. I’m still a feminist and I’m still writing from my own experiences, but I can’t tackle all the big issues on my own.

In honor of this new direction, I thought I’d share a song:

I saw The Great Gatsby this weekend (yeah yeah I’m slow, I know) and while I enjoyed the whole film, I especially liked the song Young and Beautiful by Lana del Rey. This version in particular has haunted me since I saw the film, and while I wish the track included her vocals like it does for a split second in the movie, it’s otherwise quite charming…although I absolutely MUST learn the Charleston so I can dance along!

One thought on “I thought I would try giving this blogging thing another go

Leave a Reply

