Mystery fabrics from South Korea

At this point in my life, I have accepted that I have pretty niche interests. While some people are content with a standard home sewing machine, I want a vintage or antique treadle (or a vintage or antique industrial…hoping I get one soon!). While some people are content with acrylic or cotton yarn, I like merino wool, especially if it’s hand-spun. While some people are content with Victoria’s Secret, I like Freya. This has led to me being occasionally unsatisfied (okay, who am I kidding, usually unsatisfied) with my smaller Midwestern town, even if the products I want don’t exist. But thankfully, the products I want do exist. They’re just in Korea.

For reasons I don’t entirely understand, South Korea is currently a textile haven. Every blog I have read on the subject talks about how inexpensive and lovely these fabrics are, and you can walk into a mall of sorts, talk to dealers and wholesalers, and walk out with a roll. The cotton-linen blend fabric above costs about $7 a yard on this website (which I can’t read or order from, but it’s pretty to look at). I don’t know about you, but when I lo0k at those fabrics I see pillowcases, curtains, dresses, skirts, blouses, collars, bags…pretty much anything and everything that can be sewn with quilting-weight cotton.

Everything on the Chungage website (again, I have no idea what that means, but I think it must be good) is absolutely beautiful. The photographs of the fabrics and items made from them are like Etsy on crack. Everything is light and airy, and the textiles usually have a few leaves, mason jars, or baskets conveniently lurking nearby.

If that’s not all, sometimes the fabrics are made up into beautiful, inviting linens. I generally am not a fan of the phrase “shabby chic”, but can you think of a better term!?

I don’t know who is manufacturing these fabrics, but there are a couple of sites that seem to sell what are basically the same patterns, Chungage and In-Fabric. I’ve seen a couple of sellers on Ebay and Etsy selling these fabrics as well, but I haven’t ordered from them yet (and honestly I just want an entire roll of these fabrics! I would be a distributor if I could!)

The link for this one (click through the images, by the way) says that the pattern is “Gage Exclusive” so maybe they do their own prints or something. I don’t know. All I know is it’s pretty and I want all of it.

As an added benefit, you also get Google Translate poetry when looking at the descriptions:

pastel colored check pattern is too stylish linen fabric is 
good and smooth sense of employment in the sun, I’m just a little beaches. 
Bay likely out pattern of blue, pink wearing became 2color! 

I don’t know what that means, but it sounds fun.

I don’t know anything about the crafting culture in South Korea, but from what I can tell, it’s abundant with resources and supplies. Seriously, I would love to be a distributor/agent/whatever for these fabrics–and I’d love even more to take a trip to South Korea and see what else they’ve got there!

Does anyone know more about these companies and their fabrics? Just looking at them gives me an urge to sew! I think they’re timeless and lovely.

2 thoughts on “Mystery fabrics from South Korea

  1. Oh wow… those fabrics are amazing. I totally share your love of them! Off to check out that link and see what the shipping deal is!! Thank you so much for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

